Solved!

Go to Solution

Closed

Community Manager

• 

573 Posts

November 13th, 2023 17:12

Week 1 Question 11/13/2023 - 11/19/2023: POST REPLY HERE

How do you manage driver updates and firmware upgrades on your Dell devices, and do you have any tips to share?

Please post your response below. Visit How to Participate + Official Rules for more information.

1st Place Winner for week 1: @p4g1wv54BcbACgJA 

2nd Place Winner for week 2: @JOcean 

I have sent you a DM for details!

Dell-KodySwenson
Social Media Support, Community Manager
#IWork4Dell
Find your Service Tag

7 Technologist

• 

12.1K Posts

November 14th, 2023 01:57

Number one I do not allow any auto updates, that is the recipe for a disaster. I like to use Windows update and generally do a bit of Google search on the available updates to catch any possible problems before they are too late to catch. Some driver updates that may be Dell only compatible such as a GPU driver, I like to look at the version compared to the manufacturer's version just to check for any out of date versions. As for firmware I agree with others posting here. If you are having a problem and that firmware specifically addresses it then by all means update. But with firmware updates the old adage, leave well enough alone or better yet if it ain't broke, goes a long way. Even most of the motherboard manufacturers have a disclaimer on their support site warning to not update if you are not having a problem (at least the MB manufacturer's sites I have seen).

1 Rookie

• 

3 Posts

November 18th, 2023 17:01

I've had some pretty poor experiences with Dell's update utilities. The website provides a lot of drivers that are irrelevant or unnecessary, which is confusing to a lot of folks. SupportAssist is also slow and bloated.