Update Endpoints settings w/o reinstall - Data Protection Solutions - Data Security - Dell Community

Update Endpoints settings w/o reinstall

Update Endpoints settings w/o reinstall

This question is answered

Is it possible to change an endpoint's settings via registry instead of reinstalling the endpoint? 

For example the following settings that are configured during install:

SERVERHOSTNAME, POLICYPROXYHOSTNAME, DEVICESERVERURL

If so, which keys? 

This is DDP Enterprise. 

Thx

Verified Answer
  • In general configuration settings are here:

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\CMGshield]


    Here are the locations for your particular updates:

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\CMGshield]

    "Server"="SERVERHOSTNAME"
    "GK"="POLICYPROXYHOSTNAME"

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\CMGshield\Servlet]
    @="DEVICESERVERURL"

    As a warning please be careful, if you switch what server the endpoint is pointing to it could cause unexpected results with recovery and status of the machine in the server console.


    Additionally they need to keep in mind that the POLICYPROXYHOSTNAME can be overridden by policy.


All Replies
  • In general configuration settings are here:

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\CMGshield]


    Here are the locations for your particular updates:

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\CMGshield]

    "Server"="SERVERHOSTNAME"
    "GK"="POLICYPROXYHOSTNAME"

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon\CMGshield\Servlet]
    @="DEVICESERVERURL"

    As a warning please be careful, if you switch what server the endpoint is pointing to it could cause unexpected results with recovery and status of the machine in the server console.


    Additionally they need to keep in mind that the POLICYPROXYHOSTNAME can be overridden by policy.


  • Thanks ... to be safe, I went ahead and removed the client and then reinstalled.