Export AD Users from OU to CSV and check for group membership

Your PowerGUI Community: Simplify your PowerShell related GUI and script editing needs.

Export AD Users from OU to CSV and check for group membership

This question is answered
Hello,

i want to export all users from one single OU to a csv. And while doing this i want to check if this user is memeber if one group. If so i want to have a value 1 if not a value 0.

Exporting the Users from the AD is not a problem, but i have to check for the group and all my trys took very long and i did not have success.

Maybe i should note that i am new to powershell scripting but not to using powershell for basic administration.

Can someone help me?
Verified Answer
  • Two cmdlets are your best friends: Get-Member and Get-Help. For example, to find all of the attribues that are returned by Get-QADUser (so you can discover if the user is enabled or not) do this:

Get-QADUser -SizeLimit 1 | Get-Member

This will expose the attributes AccountIsExpired and AccountIsDisabled that you will probably want to add to your Select property list.

You probably already know that the "@{}" format indicates a hash table. You can find all the cmdlets that have explicit hash table parameters by doing this:

Get-Help * -Parameter *hash*

Also try Get-Help About_*hash*

You can probably guess from the examples that Select accepts a hash table as a property. You can find more about that by entering:

Get-Help Select-Object -Parameter Property

Which returns:
    -Property <Object[]>
        Specifies the properties to select. Wildcards are permitted.

The value of the Property parameter can be a new calculated property. To create a calculated, property, use a hash table. Valid keys are:
        -- Name (or Label) <string>
        -- Expression <string> or <script block>

Required?                    false
        Position?                    1
        Default value               
        Accept pipeline input?       false