Your PowerGUI Community: Simplify your PowerShell related GUI and script editing needs.

Modify or update existing AD Users contact details

This question is answered
Hi,
I am new to powershell and still learning, I have been given the task to update over 500 Users contact details for existing users for both Manager and department fields only. I have been given a spreadsheet of the changes I am trying to avoid doing it manually. Has anyone got a powershell command or script to assist in doing this ?

Thanks

Debo
Verified Answer
  • Hi debops, welcome to PowerGUI! This is exactly the kind of thing that Powershell was made for!

In order to easily manipulate Active Directory you'll need some tools. You can either use Microsoft's Remote Server Administration Tools (installed from the Windows features window) or you can use Quest's AD Tools (located on their website).

Since I'm familiar with Microsoft's tools, that's what I'll use here but the cmdlet's are very similar so you could easily adapt to Quest if you wanted to.

First we need to save your spreadsheet as a CSV file. I'm going to assume the header row has a row for Username, Manager and Department. If there's no Username then we'll have to use first name last name which is a Idealittle[/i] more challenging, but not too bad.

First we want to use Import-CSV to pull all the information from the CSV and we want to go through that line by line and reference the 3 columns we want. From there we simply use Set-ADUser to update the 2 fields we want to change.

The first line of the script loads the Microsoft Powershell tools, so even though you've installed them from Windows Features you have to tell Powershell to load them--by default it won't.

BeerImport-Module ActiveDirectory -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue

$Users = Import-Csv c:\utils\users.csv
    ForEach ($User in $Users)
    { Set-ADUser $User.Username -Manager $User.Manager -Department $User.Department
    }[/b]
All Replies