Your PowerGUI Community: Simplify your PowerShell related GUI and script editing needs.

Import-csv file to create new AD Groups

This question is answered

Hi all!

I am very new to scripting and powershell in general. Unfortunatly I have a problem for a customer that I need to fix. I have to create 150 global security groups in AD and because Powershell is THE magic solution for every admin and we all have to learn it I definitly want to do it this way.

Ok so I created a csv file with the following parameter in Excel:

name ,parent,samaccountname,grouptype,groupscope,description
SG_TEST1,"OU=Test,DC=apple,DC=local",SG_TEST1,security,global,Applicatiegroep Test1
SG_TEST2,"OU=Test,DC=apple,DC=local",SG_TEST2,security,global,Applicatiegroep Test2
SG_TEST3,"OU=Test,DC=apple,DC=local",SG_TEST3,security,global,Applicatiegroep Test3
SG_TEST4,"OU=Test,DC=apple,DC=local",SG_TEST4,security,global,Applicatiegroep Test4

I see know that Excel throws everything in one colum and different lines, I seperated the colums in Excel, but the csv does it this way. I hope thats ok.

So the domainname is just a test domain and I am running this in a test environment. I installed the quest ActiveRoles AD PowerShell extensions and added them. When I type the following command in powershell or the powergui nothing happens. No errors, just enter and then a blinking cursor. The OU stays empty, no groups.

This is the script:

import-csv c:\test.csv | foreach {New-QADGroup -Name $_name -ParentContainer $_parent -SamAccountName $_samaccountname -GroupType $_grouptype -GroupScope $_groupscope -Description $_description}

I tried also to do the $_.name, so with a dot but also not the solution. Dubugging mode in Powergui does nothing.

Also running powershell in administrator mode. C: drive security settings maybe?

Can somebody help me please!

Thanks in advance!

Jeroen

Message was edited by: Jeroen
Verified Answer
  • I would double-check the header line in the CSV file.