PE2950 running server 2012, where do I get updates? - OS and Applications - Forum - OS and Applications - Dell Community

PE2950 running server 2012, where do I get updates?

OS and Applications

OS and Applications
Dell OS and Applications Solutions on Dell TechCenter - Project Sputnik, Microsoft Windows, Red Hat Linux, SUSE, Ubuntu, and more

PE2950 running server 2012, where do I get updates?

• I go to dell.com and enter my product and OS and it gives me updates but none seem to run, tells me my OS is too new. Trying to get it to recognise a PERC 6/e card I just installed hooked to a MD1000. Thanks. In case you can't tell, I'm not an IT profesional.

• Leave the MD1000 disconnected.

Does Windows see the card at all? Go to Device Manager (go to Start and search for it) and look under storage/RAID/SCSI controllers.

If not, which PCIe port are you putting it in?

What is an example of an "update" you are running that is giving you that message?

• Thank you for taking the time!!

No, the card is not seen in Device Manager. It sees the perc 6/i but not the 6/e

Is there more than one PCI port? I am plugged into the one on the far side from the PS's. Only one slot down in the bottom.

I used the utility on Dell.com to check my configuration and it gave me several available updates. The BIOS update I already had and none of the others would install.

• Boot to CTRL-R to see if it shows both controllers and/or check OMSA to see if it sees anything in that PCIe slot. If no/no, I would guess either the card or the slot is bad.