Connecting 2 Powerconnect 5524 switches

Networking

Networking
Learn how to modernize & transform the network with the latest solutions from Dell Data Center, Campus and Wireless networking solutions.

Connecting 2 Powerconnect 5524 switches

This question has suggested answer(s)

Hello,

I'm new to networking so this is why I'm asking some advise. We are a new company and we are preparing to move out an existing office to our own office with own infrastructure. We bought 2 Dell R720 with 2 4-port network cards with Xenserver on it. We also bought a Dell NX3200 for storage and backup. We also bought 2 Dell PowerConnect 5524 switches. 

On the switches I want 3 VLAN's. 1 VLAN for normal netwerk connected with the workstations and servers. 1 VLAN for storage/backup purpose and 1 VLAN for VoIP telephony. The 2 switches are connected with a fibre cable. 

The servers I want to connect redundant. So every port on de servers is bonded with the second network card and every cable goes in an other switch. The same with the storage network.

Now I have been reading a lot and all de technical things like LAG and STP and MSTP. Some terms however are somehow confusing. So if anyone want's to help me to put together the right configuration I will be forever thankful!

Thanks in advance.

Andy

All Replies
  • I would advise hiring a Network Engineer on a short contract to get your network up and running.  It can be rather difficult to set up a network without any previous knowledge or experience.  

We can definitely help out with any direct questions you may have.  It would be very difficult to address each and every scenario that you would need to successfully configure your network.

Here is a link to a home page with several White Paper articles:

en.community.dell.com/.../2580.networking-whitepapers.aspx

Creating VLANs

console> enable

console# config

console(config)# vlan database

console(config-vlan)# vlan 10

console(config-vlan)# exit