Comparison of Support Vector Results with Non linear regression results - Statistica General Discussion - Statistica - Dell Community

Comparison of Support Vector Results with Non linear regression results

Comparison of Support Vector Results with Non linear regression results

This question is not answered

Hi,

I used SVM functionality of Statistica in a research. One of the reviewers requested comparison of SVM results with Non-Linear Regression results using these words "A nonlinear solution will almost always be at least as good as a linear solution. However, you need to justify SVM in contrast to other nonlinear regression approaches."  

From this statement I understood that I should execute a similar test with the same variables using non-linear regression menu. I checked the menu Statistics/Advanced Models /Fixed Non-Linear Regression Seemed proper to me. ( I am not an expert on statistics as you would understand). However this menu is designed in a completely different manner than SVM. For example, I can not select test and training data, or I can not use n-fold cross validation. 

So how should I compare results of these two analyses? For SVM I included graphs with fitting lines and it was found ok by the reviewers for non-linear regression what output should I include to my research text? 

You may suggest different steps to fulfill the reviewer's request?  

Thank you for your time and consideration. 

Ferda 

. A nonlinear solution will almost always be at least as good as a linear solution. However, you need to justify SVM in contrast to other nonlinear regression approaches.

All Replies
  • Hi Ferda,