Data Storage

Storage

Storage
Information and ideas on Dell storage solutions, including DAS, NAS, SAN and backup.

Data Storage

This question has suggested answer(s)

I'm a student in need of help.

I know a company that is uploading 100GB of data to the cloud every week.  Could somebody please advise me of an alternative, cost effective measure of keeping data in house.  The company has around 40 employees. 

I have looked at the powervault range and was wondering if something like that would be an overkill, I don't want to oversell a product, but at the same time I don't want to undersell one either.

I would be interested in something that could easily be incorporated into the current system possibly over an ethernet connection and would scaleable to meet future demands. 

Many thanks

Keith

All Replies
  • Hi Keith,  I'm moving your question over to the Powervault forums as that group would be better suited to helping answer your question.  

• Keith_334,

The unit that is currently available that you would need to do what want is the PV3200i. Below is the link that has all the details on the device.

www.dell.com/.../pd

With this unit depending how you build it you have get 3TB SAS drive which would give you the most space. The drives also come in smaller sizes as well. It just depends on how much the company will need and how far ahead they want to plan. As far as future scalability you always have the option to add an additional MD1200 behind the 3200i array. Please let me know if I can assist you with anything else.

Kenny K.

Download the Dell Quick Resource Locator app today to access PowerEdge support content on your mobile device! (iOS, Android, Windows)

• How important is uptime, and what kind of server or servers will be uploading (backing up) to this in-house solution?

An MD1200 connected to a PERC H800 (in a PowerEdge server) may be enough and save a lot of money compared to an MD3200i solution.