Windows has detected a problem, blue screen

Software & Operating Systems

Software & Operating Systems
Microsoft, Linux, Productivity software, discussion

Windows has detected a problem, blue screen

• My computer was very slow this morning and the task manager was not opening so I believed there was a virus on my computer I then proceeded to attempt a reformat of my hard drive. During the installation of windows while it was restarting my computer, a blue screen came on my monitor that said "A problem has been detected and windows has shut down to prevent damage to your computer" This was followed by steps I couldn't follow because I cannot reach the desktop. Every time I restart my computer the same blue screen appears even when i try to start windows in safe mode. The technical reference is "Stop: 0X0000007B (0XF7C7B524, 0XC0000034, 0X00000000, 0X00000000)
  • Yay, someone with my problem.

DELL DOES IT AGAIN!
  • I just had the exact same problem.  I've been running for 10 months on this my Dimension 4600 desktop.  I couldn't boot in safe mode either.  I tried booting from "Last Known good Configuration", but that didn't work.

I was able to reboot with the CD rom and attempted to repair my disk in the recovery console, but it couldn't do it.  Everytime I ran "CHKDSK /P/R" it stopped around 39%. 

I finally tried to reinstall using the CD Rom, but it ran into this error and couldn't go on.

"cannot create \windows\system32\spool\prtprocs\w32X86"

I'm not an expert, but it seems like either the disk is damaged or something really serious happened.

I tried calling Dell technical support, but hung up after waiting for 25 minutes.

• I fixed the problem I booted directly from the cd-rom and the windows install finished thank god yay hopes this helps the rest of u!!
  • yea hockey, that is what i was going to say, do a "clean" install where you boot from the cd-rom drive with the win xp cd, and format the harddrive etc..