DELL W1700 MONITOR / TV

Peripherals

Peripherals
Dell Monitors, Printers, Projectors, Hardware and Software discussion

DELL W1700 MONITOR / TV

• Hi

I have a problem with the monitor, which i have been using for the 2 1/2 years.

The TV part of it works no problem, but the PC display is completly black.

I have tried only connecting the VGA sockets and disconnecting the DVI but this still doesnt work.

I also tried it to connect it on another PC but that didnt work either.

Does anyone know what could be wrong with it.

Thanks

Bob

• Ok I take it you have a black screen... power light is still on and you have sound  in TV mode or on the PC.

I would say that probably the back light inverter has packed up, its a weak point on this model............ now before you sigh in despair, there is some good news, you can buy a replacement and fit it yourself, it  will cost you $80 dollars and is a do it yourself fit ( many on here have )

for the step by step picture by picture guide see http://www.lcdpart.com/files/dell_w1700.pdf

this is an improved board over the original item :) hope that helps you out :D

Message Edited by taylortony on 10-07-2006 06:54 PM

• Thanks for replying

The TV does work in full, I have no problems with the monitor in TV mode, as I can watch and listen to the TV.

Its just in PC mode, i get the black screen.

Do you still think it could be the Invertor board as I beleive I cant buy one in the UK, only from the company that you kindly sent me the link to.

Thanks

Bob

• If the TV is working normally ie you have a picture it is not that, the backlight is for want of a better word 2 flourescent light strips down the sides of the lcd panel that shine behind it and illuminate the image. if it is working it isnt that, have you checked the pc with another monitor or tried another pc on it?
  • Yes i have tried the monitor on another pc ,but  still doesnt work

Also tried the pc with a CRT monitor and it  works with no problems.