Can I get a 8011.g router to network if I have only a 56k Modem connection?

Networking, Internet, Wireless

Networking, Internet, Wireless
From Wi-Fi to wired Ethernet, mobile broadband to modems: it's all spoken here.

Can I get a 8011.g router to network if I have only a 56k Modem connection?

• I am a newbie at networking and would appreciate some help from the "exberts". I want to network a Dell Dimension 4550 and an Inspirion 600m to share files, play games and share an internet connection at my home using only dial up on POTS (can't afford DSL,no cable, and only one phone line). Both run Win XP, have v92 modems and NIC and the notebook is Centrino with 8011g Dell TrueMobile 8011BG internal card. So, what is my best and most inexpensive option? An 8011.g router with 4 ethernet ports would be great-$60 to $80, firewall, WEP, and just plug in my co-located desktop which would not have to be turned on for the laptop to access the internet. But I seem to be hearing that routers will not work with dial up modems since most are now win modems and even if I could get one to hook up to a serial port on the router, I would have problems getting it to hang up. Can I get a router to work in this situation? If not, what do I need to go to? I'd like to not have to have the desktop on all the time just for my son to be able to surf on his laptop. Can anyone point me in the right direction as to what I need to get or do? Thank you for your time. Ken
  • Your best solution would probably be a router running a modem. Some routers even contain a modem.

I used a D-Link di704 for over a year at work to share a dial up internet connection with several computers.

If you can't find a router with wireless and modem capabilities, just use one with modem capabilities and plug an access point into it.

As to the hand up issue, the router will probably have settings to set the idle time before hang up -- just like you would do if using a computer and ICS.