Dimension 2400 & Wireless PCI Card

Networking, Internet, Wireless

Networking, Internet, Wireless
From Wi-Fi to wired Ethernet, mobile broadband to modems: it's all spoken here.

Dimension 2400 & Wireless PCI Card

This question is not answered

I am an IT professional and am finally admitting this one has me stumped.

My son has a 2400 and we are just adding a wireless NIC card.  We have an Engenius wireless AP and have 3 other PCs and notebooks connected successfully all running at full 54G - Engenius has a great wirelesss AP.

So I purchase a Linksys PCI wireless card and install it properly but it won't connect to the Engenius SSID.  All settings are correct as I do this for a living and have another Linksys PCI card in another PC here and it coneects properly and runs fine.

SInce my son had alot of programs on this 2400 and I thought he might have corrupted the MS network files - I just wiped the drive last night and loaded XP fresh - no problem.  After I setup it up and added the Linksys wireless card again (had removed it during the XP install just to get a cleaner install) loaded drivers and XP sees the SSID just as it had before - full strenght signal - but it won't connect to it.  I even reset the security on the Engenius AP temporarily to NONE from WPA but it still wouldn't connect. 

So I get another 2400 that our daughter had and that we were going to give to her kids for Christmas - just relaoded XP on that one also - and I installed the Linksys card in it and the same problem - no wireless connection - even though it finds the SSID  - full strength signal.

So I uninstall the Linksys card - reboot - load new drivers for a Dynex Wireless card - turn the 2400 off - install the new Dynex card and reboot - load the drivers correctly and it also sees the SSID perfectly-  but won't connect - same problem as the Linksys.  Tried it in the 2nd 2400 and it does the same thing.