Dell Inspiron Mini 10 (1010) no boot or POST

Laptop

Laptop
Laptop computer Hardware and Software discussion

Dell Inspiron Mini 10 (1010) no boot or POST

This question is not answered

I am an IT field service technician, trying to wake this netbook up for a friend.  With battery inserted, power light flashes alternately blue and red.  With battery removed: on power on, 'book Power Light illuminates blue, can hear hard drive self testing.  No video of any kind on LCD display, no audible POST codes.  Tried various combinations of ESC, 'F' keys, Fcn + F1 (to toggle video) - all no help.  Only way to power down is to hold power button down.

Unable to use alternate video, as there is no port, and I don't have what would appear to be a video out dongle to fit what appears to be a small coaxial jack on the left side of the 'book.  Using online manual, removed keyboard, removed and reseated hard drive.  I don't think RAM is removable. Powered on w/o HDD - power light blue, no other indications.   Also checked all visible connectors under keyboard to ensure cables are properly secured.  If I alternately press multiple 'F' keys on power on, I can get most of the 'F' keys to beep.  That's all I can get it to do.

Any help would be appreciated.  The owner apparently never registered the netbook, so I have no idea as to warranty status.

All Replies
  • I would suggest download the owner's manual.

my Dells:
    Precision M6300 - XP SP3 / Windows 7 / Ubuntu 12.04
    Latitude D620 - XP Pro SP3
    Precision M6300 - Windows 7