Forums

Laptop

Laptop
Laptop computer Forums (Audio, General Hardware, Video)

M6500 freezes

This question is answered

Three times so far today (and it's only 9:30 in the morning) my brand new M6500 has locked up.  The video is completely frozen (no updates to clock or any other dynamic video).  Keyboard and mouse are unresponsive.  Pressing the power button works only if I hold it down to force a power off.  Despite this, the disk light is still going, indicating some activity.

Does anyone have any ideas as to how I can figure out the problem?

Special note: To try to find a common cause for this problem, members of this thread are maintaining a spreadsheet with their individual configurations.  You can access the spreadsheet at the link below.  Please take care as this spreadsheet is fully editable.

https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0ArbgwfRFUvfHdDBuT0xhMEkwOVdielJqVHc0MWRFZUE&hl=en&authkey=CM3Qx9YO

Verified Answer
  • I've been running for just over three months on the replacement M6600 Dell sent me. Except for a minor hiccup with the video card (what else) that was eventually replaced, everything has been running fine since. The only thing I can suggest to everyone is to insist on a replacement with a newer model. It's the only thing that worked for me.

All Replies
  • Hi Kevin

Sorry I have no answer to this but I have exactly the same problem.  Almost out of the box my new m6500 has been freezing randomly.  Sometimes it goes for a couple of hours without fail.  did you get a fix?

A few things I have noticed and I wonder if you noticed the same...

It usually but (not exclusively) occurs when I am scrolling down a web page (I have tried Chrome, IE8, and IE 8 - 64 and happens with all)

As you have said the screen, mouse and keyboard all freeze but if I listen closely I can hear the hard drive running