Inspiron 1525 noisy fan

Laptop

Laptop
Laptop computer Hardware and Software discussion

Inspiron 1525 noisy fan

• I have Inspiron 1525 with XP and Vista installed on it. Everything is fine except one annoying thing. I have SpeedStep enabled in Bios and Powersaver plan in Vista and Portable scheme in XP, but in spite of it fan work aprox. every 5 minutes for 1-2 minutes, even if processor load is 1 or 2 %. How can I fix it?
  • No matter what your power settings and usage are, it gets pretty toasty inside a laptop. This sounds pretty normal to me although I'm not experienced with your particular system.

You may want to try this application: http://www.diefer.de/i8kfan/index.html. Please note the precautions and proceed accordingly. This is not a Dell-approved application.

Note also that your system is not listed as compatible but that's possibly because nobody has tried it on one yet. There's little risk if you simply run the application and don't switch out of observer mode (wherein you actually take over control of your own thermal management.)

If you run in observer mode only, and the app works on your system, you'll find it quite informative to track the temperature of your CPU and watch the system control the fan. After a while you'll probably get comfortable with the fact that the fan(s) have to operate as they do, and for that alone it's probably worth trying out the program.

Footnote: my C840 has two fans in a single assembly. They were already replaced once under warranty, and one of the new ones has already developed the same problem as the original - occasional abnormal racket (vibration). The machine is off warranty now, so I'm not that keen to buy and install a new set of fans since (a) I'm not impressed with their lifetime and (b) I watched the guy install these things and they're practically the first item that goes into the case before everything else does!