Laptop computer Forums (Audio, General Hardware, Video)

M6500 freezes

This question has been answered by tumblweed9999

Three times so far today (and it's only 9:30 in the morning) my brand new M6500 has locked up.  The video is completely frozen (no updates to clock or any other dynamic video).  Keyboard and mouse are unresponsive.  Pressing the power button works only if I hold it down to force a power off.  Despite this, the disk light is still going, indicating some activity.

Does anyone have any ideas as to how I can figure out the problem?

Special note: To try to find a common cause for this problem, members of this thread are maintaining a spreadsheet with their individual configurations.  You can access the spreadsheet at the link below.  Please take care as this spreadsheet is fully editable.

Verified Answer
  • I've been running for just over three months on the replacement M6600 Dell sent me. Except for a minor hiccup with the video card (what else) that was eventually replaced, everything has been running fine since. The only thing I can suggest to everyone is to insist on a replacement with a newer model. It's the only thing that worked for me.

• I  replaced the Nvidia graphics with an Ati 7820 last nite. But the Nvidia Heat sink doesnt exactly match the ATI board. I had to add a shim because it was running too hot and shutting off. I also had to grind away some metal with a Dremel so that things would mate up to the thermal pads better. Make sure you get your ATI with a Heatsink included. I bought my ATI with no heat sink. and they are different. I had to take my laptop apart two times to make it right. Now GPU is running 49C idle and 56C under load. I used Artic Silver 5 for thermal paste.

Ok, So now its been running for 3 hours. I've put it to sleep 3 times, and run 3D Mark Vantage 2 times and scored 5869. My Windows Experience Index for graphics has jumped from 6.8 to 7.2.