BIOS (Inspiron 6400)

Laptop

Laptop
Laptop computer Forums (Audio, General Hardware, Video)

BIOS (Inspiron 6400)

• Hello, i have a laptop Inpiron 6400 and 2 weeks ago i bought an IPOD. At the beginning my laptop did not recognise it, i checked one forum on the internet and one option to fix this problem was to upgrade my BIOS.

I did that, I went to support.euro.com and downloaded the A012 version (my original version was A03) but after this change a blue screen appears telling me something like:

- BIOS memory (something)...try disable shadowing or caching options.
    - Technical information....stop: 0x000000f4 (0x0000003,0x85543020,0x85543194,0x805D117A)
    - Beginning dump of physical memory.

It is a nightmare, every 10 min this blue screen appears and my laptop is dead....i have installed BIOS A05, A07..i think all the A's for this laptop...AN THE SAME. I am not very good with computers if somebody can help me....IT WILL  BE VERY GOOD!!!!!!!!.

I have also restored my pc (PC Restore by Symantec)..but nothing.

HELLLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!

THANKS

Message Edited by hmoreta2007 on 12-31-200610:39 AM

Message Edited by hmoreta2007 on 12-31-200610:48 AM

Message Edited by hmoreta2007 on 12-31-200610:52 AM

Message Edited by hmoreta2007 on 12-31-200610:52 AM

• are you able to enter bios setup by tapping F2 at startup?
  • I think you will find the likely cause a coincidence - it looks like you have a failing hard drive.

Power on, press F12, and load the Dell diagnostics. Run the extended (surface) test on the hard drive.
  • Hi, thanks for answer my msg.

Bacillus, i can open the BIOS setup went i press F2 but i dont see anything related to shadowing or caching.

EJN63, i did the test and everything was ok...all tests passed, no problem.

Any other idea about this problem?

Thanks

• Which test did you do? The 10-minute one or the 2-hour (or so) one?