2 month old Inspiron 1720 (Vista Ultimate) - No Audio except system beeps

Laptop

Laptop
Laptop computer Forums (Audio, General Hardware, Video)

2 month old Inspiron 1720 (Vista Ultimate) - No Audio except system beeps

• First of all, let me preface this by saying that I am definitely not a novice computer user.  I'm a software engineer and have been working with Vista systems for over a year now.  All of a sudden a few days ago I noticed my audio stopped working on my 2 month old Inspiron 1720 (Windows Vista Ultimate and SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC).  When I try to manually start the Windows Audio service from the Service Control Manager it says "Windows could not start the Windows Audio service on Local Computer.  Error 1068: the dependency service or group failed to start."  I then try to manually start the MMCSS dependent service and get: "Windows could not start the MMCSS service on Local Computer.  Error 193: 0xc1".  Looking in the Event Viewer under Windows Logs-->System I see an error message: "The MMCSS service terminated with the following error:  MMCSS is not a valid Win32 application."

I first tried downloading the latest audio driver from the Dell website and reinstalling the driver.   When that didn't work, I called Dell and spent the afternoon with them trying to use System Restore to load several different restore points, eventually going all the way back to the original restore point (2 months ago).  None of the restore points will load successfully.  Dell then said it's a software problem and maybe a Microsoft update stomped on their "QuickSet" application and recommended I download the latest driver for QuickSet and reinstall it.  I did that and still no audio.