IDE Drive Diagnostics Return Code 7

Disk Drives

Disk Drives
Disk Drives (Floppy, USB, HDD, CD/DVD/BD) discussion

IDE Drive Diagnostics Return Code 7

• Howdy Everyone,

This past weekend I had the "Return Code 7" fail error from the IDE Drive Diagnostics program included with my Dell Dimension 8250, on two ATA-100 250 GB disk drives. I have been using these drives for the past three years in external ADC Technologies enclosures, which allowed the ATA-100 drives to be used as Firewire (IEEE-1394) devices for backup purposes. This past weekend, I cloned my 120 GB Windows XP SP2 boot drive onto one of the 250 GB drives and moved it into the PC, only to get the "Return Code 7" error from the IDE Drive Diagnostics program.

When I visited this forum to find out what the return code actually meant, I was agast to find that the number one recommendation was to instantly replace the disk drive, because of a READ error! What a TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY and a perfectly good disk drive ... unless it had been dropped from 10 feet high, or had a gallon of water poured onto it, while it was running.

Seriously, the only time anyone should even think about throwing away a modern disk drive is when it makes a continual rattling noise, or it's smoking and/or very smelly ... both of which are indications of a physical "crash" of the heads onto one or more of the disk platters. The preparation for this event is a process called BACKUPS ... the copying of your critical data onto another disk drive or tape drive for easy recovery/reloading.