XPS 8500 blue tooth operation

Desktop

Desktop
Desktop computer Hardware and Software discussion

XPS 8500 blue tooth operation

This question is not answered

Would like some information on how to use configure BT. I purchased a Logitech MX5500 combo and having problems using their provided BT doggle... just doesn't want to stay connected especially on boot up. Also I don't have a BT icon in the Dell programs for the Dell BT

Thanks, I'm new at thos BT thingy

All Replies
  • PA-Woodchuck,

Is the device rated for USB 2 or USB 3? Here are the USB ports on the XPS 8500. Which ones have you tested?
    USB 3.0: Two Blue Front, Two Black Rear
    USB 2.0: Four Black Rear, Two Black Top Front

(Liaison for Desktops, Alienware, Monitors)
    Would you like to be a Dell Community Rockstar?

• It's USB 2 and plugged into the top USB. Since my XPS8500 has BT built in, how do I activate it to try the KB/mouse. I let my Ipad do a discovery but the dell didn't show up

• Plug it into the rear USB 2.0 ports which are integrated onto the motherboard rather than the front/top USB 2.0 ports. Bluetooth on XPS 8500 is integrated on the following WLAN Cards offered with the system =
    Dell Wireless WLAN 1703 Half Mini-Card, 802.11 b/g/n + Bluetooth 4.0
    Dell Wireless WLAN 1704 Half Mini-Card, 802.11 b/g/n + Bluetooth 4.0
    Intel 2230 WLAN Half Mini-Card

You did purchase one of those correct? If yes, you do see the WLAN card in the Device Manager? If yes, close the Device Manager.

* Click Start to display the start menu
    * Type Bluetooth in the search box
    * Click Change Bluetooth Settings
    * Select Show the Bluetooth icon in the notification area and click OK
    * Click the Bluetooth icon  on the system tray
    * Click Add a Device
    * Select the device from the list and click Next
    * Select Yes if the pairing code is matched and click Next

• Here's a line from the Dell build sheet

430-4735 Dell Wireless 1703 802.11b/g/n , Bluetooth v4.0+LE