Power Button blinks amber once only, computer won't power up. PSU Dead?

Desktop

Desktop
Desktop computer Forums (Audio, General Hardware, Video)

Power Button blinks amber once only, computer won't power up. PSU Dead?

This question is not answered

Hi, last night I powered down my computer, and in the shutdown process, I noticed windows was installing an update or two.  After I went and got ready for bed, I went back to email something I'd forgotten to send.  When I pushed the power button, nothing happened.  I held it down for 20 secs or so, then pushed again.  The button lit amber one time, then went dark.  Only by repeating this procedure (hold it down for a while, then press again) does it light once.  No other behavior.

Studio 540, WinVista Home Premium 64-bit, quad Q8200.

Has anyone seen this behavior or have any ideas?  Any ideas what I can do or what to check?  I have never done much more than install new RAM.  Other than that, I have very little hardware experience.  I've been working on a video project for weeks and it's supposed to go to parents this weekend!!!  Help!

Thanks everyone,

Louis

All Replies
  •  LouisAFF

Check the reading of the power button LED, is it Steady White, Blinking White, Steady Amber, Blinking Amber or is it Off?

The Studio 540 Troubleshooter is HERE

Are there any 'Beep's, or error messages, if there are, please post the exact text of them?

Bev.

If my answer was helpful, please use the 'Did this answer the question' and click: Yes
    Forum Member since 2001
    I am not employed by Dell

• Bev,

There is zero activity on the tower box and zero activity on the monitor.  The power button LED lights up amber for one blink and then remains dark.  No beeps, no other colors displayed on the LED or screen.  Completely dark after the single amber blink, the screen nor the screen power button displays any activity (the screen is powered on and steady amber power button).