RAID drivers in Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Desktop

Desktop
Desktop computer Forums (Audio, General Hardware, Video)

RAID drivers in Windows 7 Ultimate x64

This question is answered

Hello People,

Im new to the RAID systems and I've been educating myself on how SATA RAID works. I have a pretty good knowledge on computers as i have built many systems in my time but most of them being BACK IN THE DAY when there was just IDE drives and Pentium 4s. "Guess I've been out the loop for a min."  I do know how the rules of the levels of RAID work well, at least through 0,1-5-10 anyway. Don't know about anything past that... Moving on, I've heard fron diffrent sorces that RAID can inprove your performance even if you only have one HDD instaled. I've read, at least from two different people that RAID 0 gave them better read speeds and overall performance on their systems with just 1 HDD.

Is this true?

I recently Installed Windows 7 Ultimate x64 on my XPS 410 so I could get full use of 4 GB of RAM and upgraded my processor to a Q6700 Core 2 Quad but I didn't install RAID drivers cause I didn't think I needed it with one drive. I don't even remember but I think my original Dell system came with RAID installed with Vista but I'm not sure cause I had not been educated about such a thing at the time. All I know is that RAID is ON by defult in the BIOS so I am assuming that it came with RAID drivers from Dell.  Now that I have learned a little more about it I'm wondering if I should do a fresh install with RAID drivers this time.

Any sugestions? 

Dell XPS 410

Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Processor: Q7600 Core 2 Quad

Memory: 4 GBs 800Mhz PC2-6400

Hard Drive: 1 Western Digital Caviar Black 1-TB running as SATA II in RAID to enable the AHCI controller

Video / Display: 1 XFX ATI Radeon HD 5770 XXX 1 GB DDR5 with display port, HDMI, and Dual DVI ports. PCI-                           E  X16  2.0 Card