XPS 420 wake from sleep issue

Desktop

Desktop
Desktop computer Hardware and Software discussion

XPS 420 wake from sleep issue

• I have just received my new XPS 420 with Vista Home Premium.  I'm new to Vista and have read about the new Sleep feature.  Each time I go into sleep mode, I can not wake out of it.  The power button flashes blue as it is supposed to but pressing it does absolutely nothing.  I have the Bluetooth 19 in 1 media hub with Bluetooth mouse and keyboard.  I searched other similar posts and adjusted the power options to High Performance.  I verified in the device properties for my Kbd and Mouse that they both have the 'Allow this device to wake computer" checked.

Once in sleep mode, my only recourse is to fully depress the power button and reboot.  Then I get the typical "safe Mode" message because windows didn't like the abnormal shutdown,

Dell XPS 420

Q6600 2.4 Ghz

4GB RAM at 800Mhz

500GB SATA HD 

128MB ATI HD 2400 PRO

19 in 1 Bluetooth Hub

IAMB KBD and Mouse

Dual 48x combo and 16X DVD +/-RW

20" SP2008WFP (w/integrated webcam and mic)

Windows Vista Home Premium

Message Edited by TA23e on 03-19-2008 10:41 PM
  • Your issue sounds similar to one I've experienced on the same type of computer.

Thankfully someone posted a solution and it was easy, so I'd say to give that a try.

Thread I mentioned

• Only thing is that my kbd and mouse are wireless (Bluetooth), so there is nothing to unplug / re plug in and I don't have an issue with my system hanging after a reboot, the issue I am having is that I can not wake from the new Vista sleep mode.   No screensaver issues here.

Thanks, I'll try the power button suggestion, but I can not see what that will do for me.

Thanks again for the reply

Tom

• Ah, I didn't really realize the Bluetooth thing at first.