yellow question marks

Desktop

Desktop
Desktop computer Hardware and Software discussion

yellow question marks

• I have a dell dimension 4550 xp sp2. Any new hardware i try and install will not work. I just get a yellow question mark in device manager or the computer just says the hardware has not been recognised and may not work correctly. For example my sony dsc w55 just will connect even after running its software. This is a recent problem as my ipod and printer were fine. I am a complete novice at computing so any advice would be a marvel. Thankyou.
  • Yellow question mark means probably that you do not have the driver installed for that piece of hardware and need to install it.  Did you by chance reinstall the operating system or made a repair to it  ?

Under what heading is the yellow question mark located on the list in device manager ?

IE:  Next to the Universal Serial Bus Controller at the bottom of the list

VelocityMicro Gamer’s Edge PCX

eVGA nForce 680i SLI Socket 775 A1 version
    E6600 2.4 Ghz
    4 Gb Corsair Dominator DDR-2 1066 Mhz Heat Xchange
    eVGA 8800 GTX
    Raptor 10,000 rpm 150 Gb
    Dell 2407 LCD
    Vista 64 bit/32 bit version

SR45
    =======================================================
    Please forum members, do not send me questions about your system by DCF Messenger.
    Post the issue in the appropriate Board, where they will be answered much sooner and by those that just may have a better solution

Message Edited by SR45 on 11-13-2007 05:50 PM

Banchetto 101 Case-Less System

http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/6640/295gtx.jpg 

eVGA 780i Mobo

eVGA 295 GTX Video

8 Gb Corsair Memory

Thermaltake TRUE Black CPU Cooler

VelociRaptor 10,000 rpm HD

Windows 7 RC 7100