some doubts regarding xps 15 l502x

XPS Club

XPS Club
Share your XPS experiences and join in the conversation with other XPS users.

some doubts regarding xps 15 l502x

• Hello,

I have been doing research on the net for buying a laptop.

I have found xps 15 to suit perfectly for my needs. Configurations :

RGB led screen, 8GBRAM, 9-cell battery, backlight keyboard, 750GB 7200RPM SATA, AUDIO upgrade,  i5 sandy bridge processor, bluetooth mouse. $2000 (Indian Rs95,000)

I have also opted for DELL 3yrs service with complete cover (best available for this model). Is it worth it? i.e. is it necessary?

I am an Mechanical Engineering student & want this laptop mostly for CAD, HD Movies, MS Office, Internet Browsing, e-book reading, & off-course GAMING!!! Wink

However, i have some doubts regarding this model :---

1. most of my friends have dell laptops(of various editions) & they have adviced me to not buy dell laptops because dell batteries are of a very low quality & get damaged frequently. i have seen my friend changing his laptop batteries every 2-3 months.Crying that is why i am a bit afraid for investing $2,000 on a laptop! however i did not find any review mentioning bad batteries for xps 15.....??? Tongue Tied

2. again the same friends complain about over-heating. i wanted to know whether buying the 9 cell model would help this? i found some reviews mentioning heating issues....any solution? Confused

3. most reviews stated issue regarding NVIDIA card. Has the issue been fixed? If not, should i wait till the issue is solved? Any idea when it might get solved? Also there are some reviews regarding faulty motherboard....has this problem been solved?

4. Is there any l503x coming out?

5. Please post your opinions if my configurations are incorrect (mostly for CAD) Yes

6. Any other issues that you found annoying in this model? Stick out tongue

Please do post your replies as $2000 is a big amount for me & i cannot afford to mess with it Embarrassed