Where can I change my graphics card on an M17x

Alienware Club

Alienware Club
Share your Alienware experiences and join in the conversation with other Alienware users.

Where can I change my graphics card on an M17x

• I'm sure this is a pretty basic question, but I'm new to the PC gaming community.  I recently bought an Alienware M17x laptop off of ebay.  The good news is that it came with pretty much every upgrade imaginable EXCEPT a decent graphics card.  Apparently the person I bought it from used it for graphic design purposes and not gaming.  I did a bit of research, and from what I understood video card upgrades ARE possible on an M17x (my old laptop had it's card built into the computer), and that I really DON'T want to try and do it myself.  My question is based off of those two assumptions, but let me know if either is incorrect.

I want to switch my current card (a NVIDIA GeForce 9400) with a 2GB GDDR5 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580M, but I have no idea how to go about doing it.  The complicating factor: because the case is pretty beat up, I don't know my serial number or even the type (R3, R2, R1) of M17x that it is.  I also have absolutely no idea where to go to get the cards switched.  Will alienware still do the upgrade it if I don't have the serial number OR any paperwork?

I live on Manhattan, so I have access to pretty much every store and resource available.  I would really appreciate an expert's insight into how to go about switching my card.  Let me know if there's anything I can do in return!  Thank you so much!

• well the 9400 is an onboard card and if so its a M17X R1  i not sure if it supports the 580 i dont think it can handle the 580M second the only place you can get a MXM III card would be from dell spare parts or ebay as these are OEM parts and not purchased from any computer store like tiger direct or newegg