M17x-R2 AC adapter power cord not recognized?

Alienware Club

Alienware Club
Share your Alienware experiences and join in the conversation with other Alienware users.

M17x-R2 AC adapter power cord not recognized?

• My Alienware M17x laptop wont recognize the power cord I've been using for almost 2 years now. Can someone help? My warranty is of course up and now my laptop has went to <profanity removed>. It wont charge or even accept my delta AC adaptor as the right power cable. I've tried unplugging everything and holding the power button 10 seconds but nothing has worked. Now my laptop is competely dead and if I have the battery in it with the adaptor plugged in, it will automatically shutdown before the window loading screen. It will start though with just adaptor plugged in but runs extremely slowly and constantly reminds me that the adaptor isnt supported by Dell but it is because it was the adaptor that originally came with my laptop. I was planning on getting a new Alienware soon but after all the problems with the battery I might take my business elsewhere. If anyone has any solutions please tell me, I'm thinking maybe the battery is done but I dont want to fork out the money and find out it wasnt the problem.

• BAlexanderDX

... and if I have the battery in it with the adaptor plugged in, it will automatically shutdown before the window loading screen.

It will start though with just adaptor plugged in but ...

If the battery is removed, it ignores the Battery "actions on charge levels" ... in the Power Profile. Boot like that and change the various levels to "Take no action". Now, you should be able to leave the battery attached and see what it's doing.

Sounds like either the battery or charger is bad. Kind-of hard to tell without a set of good ones, or another identical machine to test with. Could also be laptop itself.

Alienware Aurora ~ Intel i7-930 ~ 12gb ram ~ AMD HD-5870
    256gb Samsung 830 SSD / 1tb HDD ~ LG Blu-Ray ~ USB 3.0 PCIe