Flat panel monitor went black w/floating window "2:Digital Input Self Test Feature Check"

Peripherals

Peripherals
Dell Monitors, Printers, Projectors, Hardware and Software discussion

Flat panel monitor went black w/floating window "2:Digital Input Self Test Feature Check"

• Flat panel monitor is 2 yrs old and no problems.  Inspiron 2400 on and running programs.  Monitor went black with only a window floating that is titled "Dell 2:Digital Input Self Test Feature Check."  The window has four colored bars that are labeled: red, green, blue, white.  Cannot see cursor - decided to power off.  Window on monitor continues to display unless I unplug the power source to the monitor.  Powering computer and/or monitor on and off has been ineffective.  Can I do anything?  Is it trash or fixable?  I have some working knowledge and can follow good directions. 

Does anyone know anything about this?
  • LGA-5,

The monitor is fine. Those floating bars are the monitor selftest. They are up because the monitor is not getting a video signal from the video card in the PC.

(Liaison for Desktops, Alienware, Monitors)
    Drivers
    Order Status

• I'm having this problem too with an E228WF and a Dimension E520 running Vista.  I understand the selftest comes on when the video signal is lost, but it just started happening in the last week.  Before that, when the computer went into to sleep mode the monitor went black and the monitor power on indicator went yellow.

Is there something wrong with the power management settings in the OS?  I haven't changed anything intentionally, but it looks like Microsoft pushed some patches out in the last week or two.

Can you give some instructions for changing the power management options to power down the monitor?  I've looked through the help on my system as well as Dell support, don't see it anywhere.
  • kjp123,

* Right click anywhere on the desktop
    * Click Properties
    * Click the Screen Saver tab