Monitor can't wake up from sleep mode

Peripherals

Peripherals
Dell Monitors, Printers, Projectors, Hardware and Software discussion

Monitor can't wake up from sleep mode

• Hello:

Newbie here...I have a Dell 17-inch E172FPb flat panel display that I run on a Dell Dimension 4600 with Windows XP. It's just over three years old. Recently we've had trouble regaining an image on the monitor after it goes into sleep mode.

The monitor's power button remains green, but blinks on and off. You can see an image for a second on the monitor but then the screen goes dark again. The computer seems to be booting up normally. I have to keep pushing the monitor's power button off and on to get a picture. Once I do this, the picture is as clear as always...no blurs, etc.

I've checked and re-inserted the monitor cables and they seem okay. Could this be a video card issue, or something else?

Thanks in advance for any insights you can provide.
  • im getting similar issues to u aswell and its really getting to me, i have the 22" inch dell screen When the comp is idle for a few mins the screen goes into standby mode and i cant get it to turn back on even if im pressing the mouse buttons or keyboard buttons it annoys me cause id go get a drink while im playing a game and then when i come back the screen is off and i have to reset the comp to get the screen back
  • can a Dell rep plz help?
  • All,

Does it blink on/off during the Monitor STFC (Self Test Feature Check)?

* Turn off the monitor
    * Plug the monitor power cord directly into the wall socket to remove any surge protectors or APCs from the troubleshooting equation
    * Unplug the monitor video cable from the back of the computer
    * Turn on the monitor
    * The floating red/green/blue/white dialog box should appear on screen against a black background. If the issue appears during the STFC, the monitor is defective and should be replaced while under warranty.