Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 5th, 2024 16:17

New XPS DefaultUser0 issue. Can't re-image with recovery USB

XPS 8960

XPS 8960

Hi all, 

I have a brand new XPS desktop, when I pulled it out of the box there was no OOBE whatsoever. Instead, it booted to the windows sign-in screen with a profile I did NOT make called DefaultUser0. I found this is a windows problem, however, the rest of the issues around it appear to be Dell issues to me.

I can't re-image with a USB key, I get to where I'm supposed to choose a partition for windows and it is just a blank list that says "No drives found". 

I cannot boot into recovery mode. When I view the launch options it is a limited list, less than they usually are. I can't reset the PC to factory settings from there, there is simply no button for it where there usually is. As I said before, I cant reset the PC with a USB. And I also can't boot into SupportAssistOS recovery which is a Dell tool I've never used before. When I load up the boot menu that option is simply missing as well. I can't tell if my actual system is missing features or some kind of windows issue. Can someone help me narrow this down?

any solution that involves logging into the PC will not work. Here is what I have access to: BIOS, command prompt, and limited "advanced troubleshooting" options that have not worked for me so far. I need this installation of windows OFF this system so I can start fresh. Can anyone help me narrow this down?

5 Practitioner

• 

2.4K Posts

March 5th, 2024 18:47

Reboot to one-time boot menu - Choose Supportassist OS recovery > Skip > RESET > RESET and Update (Internet Connection is required) 

If SupportAssist OS recovery is missing and than you will have to use the USB. Since your USB doesn't have IRST drivers you can not see the drives for installation. 

Download this driver on a different computer, Intel Rapid Storage Technology Driver and Application | Driver Details | Dell US