Solved!

Go to Solution

1 Rookie

• 

12 Posts

April 11th, 2024 21:39

Precision 3650 Tower PSU upgrade | Things to watch out for

Greetings to everyone!

My Precision 3650 MT has a 300w power supply (model CN-0X7CXN-ABW00 300W 80 PLUS GOLD -I will provide a photo of it). 

I upgraded the CPU from a 65W i5-10600 to an i7-11700 (65W also) and it all seem to work ok, except when I connect external hard drives to the system I notice some delays to otherwise normal system response.

Since I was thinking of buying a dedicated GPU I went out and bought a third party PSU (G800 Gold 80 Plus Gold ATX Power Supply Unit-Cooler Master - if you need further details look it up here ), thinking that this 300w PSU might be the problem.

I came upon one or two things I'd like you guys to help me out, since I am an amateur pc builder and I might do something wrong. 

The new power unit fits perfectly in the chassis. But a friend told me that Dell uses a 24-pin power connector with different power delivery scheme that is incompatible with other typical 3d party units' 24-pin connectors. 

You guys are my best shot for knowledgeable information. Could you please help me out with this, because I don't want to do any damage to the motherboard.

The question is: do I need any connector adapter to use this new PSU or can I just plug it in? The 24-pin connector of my new PSU snags just fine into the motherboard port.

Another problem is that this new unit lacks a power connector -I really can't name it, so I'll upload a photo for you). I really don't know what exactly this connects to -probably the power button or DVD-writer but I can't tell for sure. It comes right after the last sata connector but uses only two of the four cables of it. Can you tell me if there's a suitable adapter to use with my new PSU since this has no such connector. Fyi the connectors included with my PSU are: