Start a Conversation

Unsolved

D

1 Rookie

• 

2 Posts

April 11th, 2024 09:28

Dell Optiplex 9020 Monitor Entering Power Saving Mode Issue

I have been using my Dell Optiplex 9020 for nearly two years without any major issues. However, last week, I encountered a problem where the system unit starts normally, but the monitor immediately enters power saving mode and does not display anything further. I have ruled out RAM, CPU, and power supply issues, and even tried connecting an external graphics card, but the problem persists. I would appreciate any assistance or suggestions to resolve this issue. Thank you.

5 Practitioner

• 

5K Posts

April 11th, 2024 11:01

When you indicated the system starts normally, how far did it go?  Past POST?  Complete loading Windows?

Let try a low cost troubleshooting, replace the CMOS battery with a new CR2032 coin cell.  Then, perform an RTC reset via jumper to clear NVRAM.  Adjust BIOS settings to match your hardware environment and preferences.  Run a diagnostic scan if the issue is persisted.

1 Rookie

• 

2 Posts

April 11th, 2024 11:13

@Chino de Oro​ 

The system starts, and I can hear the fans running, but the monitor immediately enters power-saving mode without displaying anything further. I have not been able to get past the initial screen or load Windows. I've already tried replacing the CMOS battery with a new CR2032 coin cell, but unfortunately, it didn't resolve the issue

(edited)

5 Practitioner

• 

5K Posts

April 11th, 2024 11:47

Check your hardware setup and verify for common mistake as a loose connection.  Test with different connection ports, test with different cables.  Confirm that you have working monitor and cable before trying to troubleshoot or fix the PC.